Coalition to 369 Members of Congress: Let the Wind PTC Expire

WASHINGTON D.C. — The American Energy Alliance joined with other coalition partners today in a letter to 369 members of the 112th Congress, urging them to oppose an extension of the wind Production Tax Credit (PTC), an outsized incentive that distorts energy markets and negatively impacts electricity reliability. The letter went to senators and representatives from 29 states with renewable mandates that force utility companies to purchase wind energy. The letter also was sent as a courtesy to the Delegate from the District of Columbia, who is a non-voting member of the U.S. House of Representatives.

“Over 75 percent of all active wind generating capacity came on-line in the past five years — a period concurrent with the expansion of state renewable energy mandates — illustrating that the PTC is not the biggest driver of wind installations in your state. Rather, what the PTC does in practice is decrease electricity reliability in your state and cause serious distortions in the market,” the group wrote.

“Reliable, affordable, and ‘always on’ electricity is critical to get our economy back on track. The wind PTC is detrimental to dependable and cost-effective forms of electricity generation. We urge you to allow this wasteful, unsustainable, and counterproductive subsidy to expire at the end of the year.”

States which currently have renewable mandates are: Arizona; California; Colorado; Connecticut; Delaware; Hawaii; Illinois; Iowa; Kansas; Maine; Maryland; Massachusetts; Michigan; Minnesota; Missouri; Montana; Nebraska; Nevada; New Hampshire; New Jersey; New Mexico; New York; North Carolina; Ohio; Oregon; Pennsylvania; Rhode Island; Texas; Washington; Wisconsin; and the District of Columbia.

To read the entire letter, click here.

To read the Dec. 12 coalition letter to Members of Congress representing states that do not have renewable mandates, click here.


Speak Your Mind


Anonymous says:
Your email has been received. Thank you for signing up.