AEA Announces 2016 American Energy Champions

Today the American Energy Alliance is pleased to announce its inaugural 2016 American Energy Champion award recipients. This award goes to members of the House and Senate who scored a 90 percent or higher on AEA’s American Energy Scorecard.

“This award goes to the members of Congress who have demonstrated a commitment to pro-growth polices that will lead to more affordable energy for American families,” said AEA President Thomas Pyle.

“Just this week, White House senior advisor Brian Deese took credit for the Administration’s war on affordable and reliable energy, which has decimated whole communities in this country and has set the United States on a path toward higher energy prices. Given this regulatory onslaught, it is vital that we grow the ranks of American Energy Champions in Congress who remain dedicated to free-market principles and will fight for less government intrusion into Americans’ energy choices,” Pyle added.

“We’re encouraged by the results of our inaugural scorecard and are confident that it will continue to be an important tool for holding Congress accountable and educating the American people about where their elected officials stand on crucial energy issues.”

On the House side, AEA scored 27 votes and cosponsored three bills, including bills to eliminate the wind Production Tax Credit and the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS). On the Senate side, AEA scored 15 votes and cosponsored a bill to eliminate the RFS.

2016 American Energy Champions  

(100 percent scores in bold)


Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT) Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY)
Sen. Benjamin Sasse (R-NE) Sen. James Lankford (R-OK)
Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-AK) Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) Sen. Michael Enzi (R-WY)
Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE) Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT) Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Sen. Tom Cotton (R-AR) Sen. Thom Tillis (R-NC)
Sen. David Vitter (R-LA) Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA)
Sen. Patrick Toomey (R-PA) Sen. David Perdue (R-GA)
Sen. John Thune (R-SD) Sen. Tim Scott (R-SC)
Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL) Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS)
Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) Sen. John McCain (R-AZ)
Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY) Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
Sen. Jeff Flake (R-AZ) Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)
Sen. Michael Crapo (R-ID) Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Sen. John Boozman (R-AR) Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK)
Sen. Jefferson Sessions (R-AL) Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN)
Sen. James Risch (R-ID)



Rep. Brian Babin (R-TX) Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY)
Rep. Cynthia Lummis (R-WY) Rep. Robert Wittman (R-VA)
Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO) Rep. Steve Chabot (R-OH)
Rep. Raúl Labrador (R-ID) Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (R-GA)
Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH) Rep. Mo Brooks (R-AL)
Rep. Sam Johnson (R-TX) Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD) Rep. Marlin Stutzman (R-IN)
Rep. Paul Gosar (R-AZ) Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
Rep. Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) Rep. Steve Scalise (R-LA)
Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX) Rep. Mike Pompeo (R-KS)
Rep. Trent Franks (R-AZ) Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX)
Rep. David Schweikert (R-AZ) Rep. Randy Neugebauer (R-TX)
Rep. David Roe (R-TN) Rep. David McKinley (R-WV)
Rep. Mick Mulvaney (R-SC) Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC)
Rep. Mark Walker (R-NC) Rep. Billy Long (R-MO)
Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-TX) Rep. David Rouzer (R-NC)
Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX) Rep. Rick Allen (R-GA)
Rep. Barry Loudermilk (R-GA) Rep. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS)
Rep. David Brat (R-VA) Rep. Bruce Westerman (R-AR)
Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) Rep. Robert Hurt (R-VA)
Rep. Scott Perry (R-PA) Rep. Tim Huelskamp (R-KS)
Rep. Jim Bridenstine (R-OK) Rep. Trey Gowdy (R-SC)
Rep. Mark Meadows (R-NC) Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-NC)
Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX) Rep. Randy Forbes (R-VA)
Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC) Rep. John Fleming (R-LA)
Rep. Ted Yoho (R-FL) Rep. Luke Messer (R-IN)
Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN) Rep. Doug Collins (R-GA)
Rep. Diane Black (R-TN) Rep. Rick Crawford (R-AR)
Rep. Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA) Rep. Michael Conaway (R-TX)
Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL) Rep. Jason Chaffetz (R-UT)
Rep. Jeff Miller (R-FL) Rep. Ed Whitfield (R-KY)
Rep. John Culberson (R-TX) Rep. Michael Burgess (R-TX)
Rep. John Carter (R-TX) Rep. Scott Tipton (R-CO)
Rep. Austin Scott (R-GA) Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT)
Rep. Alex Mooney (R-WV) Rep. Lamar Smith (R-TX)
Rep. Mia Love (R-UT) Rep. Justin Amash (R-MI)
Rep. Tom McClintock (R-CA) Rep. Dennis Ross (R-FL)
Rep. Jody Hice (R-GA) Rep. Tom Price (R-GA)
Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO) Rep. Steve Russell (R-OK)
Rep. Randy Hultgren (R-IL) Rep. Bradley Byrne (R-AL)
Rep. Roger Williams (R-TX) Rep. Randy Weber (R-TX)
Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-KY) Rep. Tom Graves (R-GA)
Rep. Keith Rothfus (R-PA) Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX)
Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-OH) Rep. Stephen Fincher (R-TN)
Rep. Scott Garrett (R-NJ) Rep. Sean Duffy (R-WI)
Rep. George Holding (R-NC) Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)
Rep. Robert Pittenger (R-NC) Rep. Kevin Brady (R-TX)
Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC) Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX)
Rep. Andy Barr (R-KY) Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)
Rep. Blake Farenthold (R-TX) Rep. Reid Ribble (R-WI)
Rep. John Duncan (R-TN) Rep. Joseph Pitts (R-PA)
Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL) Rep. Tim Murphy (R-PA)
Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA)

Click here to visit the American Energy Scorecard.



Speak Your Mind


Anonymous says:
Your email has been received. Thank you for signing up.