AEA Comments on Crucial House Vote Condemning a Carbon Tax

WASHINGTON – The American Energy Alliance (AEA) is pleased that the House chose to bring H.Con.Res.119 before the House of Representatives for voters to take note of their elected representative’s willingness to reject a new tax on the energy they rely on every single day. Encouragingly, the majority of the House agreed that a carbon tax is not in our national interest as shown by the 229-to-180 vote in favor of the resolution.

AEA President Thomas J Pyle made the following statement:

“Congress has now had several opportunities to go on record in opposition to a carbon tax, and the American Energy Alliance has been watching closely to see where elected officials stand on the issue. When members of Congress refuse to protect taxpayers from energy and tax policies that will harm American families and small businesses, they deserve to hear from their constituents.

“We were disappointed in the votes of the six Republicans who voted against the resolution including Reps. Carlos Curbelo (Fla.), Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.), Trey Hollingsworth (Ind.), Mia Love (Utah), Francis Rooney (Fla.), Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (Fla.), and additionally, Rep. Costello (Pa.) for merely voting ‘present’. Several of these individuals (Curbelo, Ros-Leitnen, and Costello) voted in favor of the same measure in 2016. These representatives will no doubt have to answer to their constituents for their vote.

“Additionally, we applaud the seven Democrats who broke with their caucus to vote YES on the resolution, as well as the many Republican members of the Climate Solutions Caucus who voted in favor, despite their participation in the CSC.

“As future carbon tax legislation is brought to Congress, we encourage legislators to put American consumers first and say ‘no’ to another tax on energy.”


For media inquiries, please contact Erin Amsberry

[email protected]

Speak Your Mind


Anonymous says:
Your email has been received. Thank you for signing up.