American Energy Alliance Releases Congressional Scorecard

WASHINGTON DC (10/19/2022) – This week, the American Energy Alliance (AEA), the country’s premier pro-consumer, pro-taxpayer, and free-market energy organization, released its American Energy Scorecard for the current Senate and the House of Representatives.

The American Energy Scorecard is guided by the following core principles:

  • Promoting affordable, abundant, and reliable energy
  • Expanding economic opportunity and prosperity, particularly for working families and those on fixed incomes
  • Giving Americans, not Washington bureaucrats, the power to make their own energy choices
  • Encouraging private sector innovation and entrepreneurship
  • Advancing market-oriented energy and environment policies
  • Reducing the role of government in energy markets
  • Eliminating the subsidies, mandates, and special interest giveaways that lead to higher energy costs

AEA President Thomas Pyle issued the following statement:

“With the failed energy policies in Europe and the war in Ukraine, it has become even clearer that access to affordable and reliable energy must be a top priority for American policymakers. Voters deserve to know where their elected officials stand on matters related to the promotion of affordable, reliable, American energy. AEA congratulates the American Energy Champions in the House and Senate. These elected officials are committed to American energy production and all the benefits that it entails both at home and around the world.”

This year’s House of Representatives scorecard compiles seven votes from the 117th Congress. 177 House members achieved a 100 percent score. While AEA applauds all the members who achieved 100 percent, we must also note those members whose voting record was especially harmful for their districts. Reps. Henry Cuellar (14 percent score) and Matt Cartwright (0 percent score) both represent major energy-producing districts. Yet their scores don’t reflect a member working for their local industry. Likewise, Reps. Jared Golden (29 percent score), Sharice Davids (0 percent score), Chris Pappas (11 percent), Susie Lee (14 percent), Elaine Luria (0 percent), Kim Schrier (0 percent), Elissa Slotkin (0 percent), Angie Craig (0 percent), Abigail Spanberger (0 percent), Jennifer Wexton (0 percent), Cynthia Axne (0 percent), Tom O’Halleran (0 percent), Tom Malinowski (0 percent), and Dina Titus (0 percent) represent areas where major employers rely on affordable, reliable energy.

This year’s Senate scorecard compiles 28 votes and 1 co-sponsorship decision from the full 6-year terms of the Senators up for reelection in 2022. Six Senators achieved better than a 90 percent score over their full term of office, while 14 Senators scored below 75 percent.

Additional Resources:

For media inquiries please contact:
[email protected]

Speak Your Mind


Anonymous says:
Your email has been received. Thank you for signing up.